The Crime of Hit and Run .pdf
Original filename: The Crime of Hit and Run.pdf
This PDF 1.4 document has been generated by Writer / OpenOffice 4.0.1, and has been sent on pdf-archive.com on 09/04/2014 at 07:55, from IP address 121.97.x.x.
The current document download page has been viewed 332 times.
File size: 231 KB (3 pages).
Privacy: public file
Download original PDF file
of Hit and
Most drivers involved in
vehicular accidents flee the
scene to avoid jail.
It may a sensible thing to do
at that time, but it will
actually worsen the case. The
act of leaving the scene in
itself is a crime; punishable
with at least sixty (60) days
incarceration, up to $500 in
fines, and six (6) months
probation. Leaving the scene
of the accident – also known
as 'hit-and-run'- is a common
problem in many states,
Highway Patrols investigate up
to 25 cases a day.
DUI, or driving under influence, is a serious criminal offense ; but leave the
scene and it becomes more complicated. Unless you are a mere passenger or
witness (although their participation would be appreciated during the
investigation), you cannot just walk away from a hit-and-run. Every driver
involved in an accident is bound by law to certain duties and obligations. In the
event of a vehicular collision for example, the driver must:
stop at once
provide assistance the the injured or
deceased person; either by transporting
or calling an emergency hotline
give their name, driver's license and
if applicable, wait for law enforcers to
arrive and help with other requirements
of Hit and
Depending on the kind of
damage, a hit-and-run may
misdemeanor or a felony.
Accidents involving damage
vehicle may be classed as a
second degree misdemeanor;
punishable by at least sixty
(60) days in prison, a fine of
up to $500, and six (6)
months of probation. Those
with injuries or fatalities may
be considered a third degree
felony; with penalties of a
maximum five (5) years jail
time, probation, and a fine
not exceeding $5,000.
DUI hit-and-runs in Florida typically get a minimum of four (4) years incarceration
– BUT if investigators can't prove the driver was drunk during the accident, there
is no minimum sentence. This is perhaps the reason why many prefer to run away
after an incident. However, it's about to change soon as a new bill is passed for
DUI hit-and-runs. According to the amendment, offenders will now have a
minimum of four (4) years for leaving the scene of the crime; plus a possible
three (3) years license suspension.
Florida DUI Hitand-Run Update
of Hit and
If you or someone you
know has committed a hitand-run, don't panic and
Get in touch with an
immediately. Law enforcers
are quick to do an in-depth
investigation of the issue
only hours after you have
fled the scene. It's only a
matter of time before they
issue a warrant for your
arrest and locate you. It's
attorney can collect as
much evidence as possible
for your defense. He or she
will likely ask you to turn yourself in as well. Trust your lawyer but don't make any
statements without speaking to him or her first.
For Florida hit-and-runs, contact your local Hillsborough County DUI
Lawyer at once for legal advice.