PDF Archive

Easily share your PDF documents with your contacts, on the Web and Social Networks.

Share a file Manage my documents Convert Recover PDF Search Help Contact

Antarctica .pdf

Original filename: Antarctica.pdf
Author: James Robert McQuaid

This PDF 1.7 document has been generated by Microsoft Word / , and has been sent on pdf-archive.com on 14/03/2018 at 20:09, from IP address 141.217.x.x. The current document download page has been viewed 219 times.
File size: 485 KB (1 page).
Privacy: public file

Download original PDF file

Document preview

Antarctica (Officially: The Democratic Federation of Antarctica, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands) is a
confederation of self-governing communities on the Continent of Antarctica. Ostensibly governed by an elected
unicameral assembly of 135 representatives (representing communities based on scales of population), the Federation
ascended to nationhood in the wake of a pitched referendum in 2010 before being recognized by the United Nations
the following year.
The Democratic Federation maintains that it exercises sole sovereignty over the continent of Antarctica, a claim which is
recognized by the United Nations, though some foreign powers have continued to operate manned research stations on
the continent without the express permission of the government, a source of ongoing international tensions. In early
2018, Antarctica was the subject of international condemnation when it seized a number of these unapproved research
stations, and imprisoned foreign nationals working there. After a standoff, the scientists were repatriated, though
Antartica has refused to return the research stations to the countries that had been running them previously.

and Largest City
National Anthem
Official Languages
2018 Estimate

Ruling Party

"Hymn to the Chosen Land" (de facto)
English, Russian, French, Spanish, Esperanto
Regional Languages Also Recognized
Approximately 14,000,000 km2
61,500 - 63,000
Antarctic, Antarctican
Representative Democracy, Unicameral Assembly
of Confederated States
• Establishment of First Permanent
Settlement—Orcadas (1904)
• First Representative Government with
Set Delineation of Powers—Dallman
Accords (1994)
• Proposal for Democratic Federation
Established (2008)
• National Referendum (2010)
• Recognition of Independence and
Admission to the United Nations as The
Democratic Federation of Antarctica
De Jure: State Secularism
De Facto: Catholicism, Eastern Orthodox
Democratic Confederalist Union Party
112/135 Seats in the Democratic Assembly

Document preview Antarctica.pdf - page 1/1

Related documents

period 03
lekh constitution2017feb17
draft rules of mdp 2016 state convention
soc 315 week 4 quiz

Related keywords