PDF Archive

Easily share your PDF documents with your contacts, on the Web and Social Networks.

Share a file Manage my documents Convert Recover PDF Search Help Contact

Respire Program notes .pdf

Original filename: Respire Program notes.pdf
Author: Madeleine Jevons

This PDF 1.4 document has been generated by Writer / OpenOffice 4.1.2, and has been sent on pdf-archive.com on 02/02/2018 at 04:37, from IP address 119.17.x.x. The current document download page has been viewed 320 times.
File size: 62 KB (1 page).
Privacy: public file

Download original PDF file

Document preview

To uplift and energise.
Bryce Dessner is an American guitarist and composer based in Paris, most widely known
as a member of Grammy award winning band the National.
Aheym means ‘homeward’ in Yiddish, and this piece is written as musical evocation of the
idea of flight and passage. As little boys, my brother and I used to spend hours with my
grandmother, asking her about the details of how she came to America. (My father’s family
were Jewish immigrants from Poland and Russia). She could only give us a smattering of
details, but they all found their way into our collective imagination, eventually becoming a
part of our own cultural identity and connection to the past. In her poem “Di rayze aheym,”
the American-Yiddish poet Irena Klepfisz, a professor at Barnard in New York and one of
the few child survivors of the Warsaw Ghetto, writes: “Among strangers is her home. Here
right here she must live. Her memories will become monuments."
Aheym is dedicated to my grandmother, Sarah Dessner.
(c) Bryce Dessner
Jőrg Widmann is a German clarinetist, conductor and composer based in Berlin.
This piece is one of five quartets composed as a sort of meta work, where each piece
compliments or contradicts the others. In the fourth, a gossamer-like texture is created with
breaths and sounds, intermingling with a passacaglia which paces forward through the
mist. Techniques such as brushing the bow on the rib of the instrument, hammering down
fingers on the string to create pitch, tossing the bow through the air and audible breathing
from the musicians are used throughout this very special work.
i. Andante sostenuto – Allegro vivo
ii. Allegro con slancio
iii. Andante calmo
iv. Molto vivace
Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) was an English pianist, conductor and composer.
Britten's first quartet was commissioned while he was living in America, and was described
by Britten as being composed on “short notice & a bit of a sweat, but I'll do it as the cash
will be useful!” It is even said he had to write with a fan in a tool shed to drown out the
piano practice of his American host.
The first of three quartets, this first work is experimental, restless and filled with incredible
tension and release. The use of gentle “diatonic dissonance” has come to be a trademark
of Britten's music – pushing something beautiful right to the edge, compromising comfort if
only for a second.

Document preview Respire Program notes.pdf - page 1/1

Related documents

respire program notes
the idea at the rear1315
slowind dnevnik review nov 2016
john cage shock info
biotraining 1
slowind review zlobec nov 2016

Related keywords